Convergent Evolution

dolphin_01

(This is a Friday Fictioneers submission for December 20th.  It's not a personal favourite but I couldn't think of anything else.  For other, better,examples please see http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2013/12/18/20-december-2013/. The picture is copyright Jean L. Hays)

Dolphins," he says, with ominous relish,"are a product of convergent
evolution...They look like fish, swim like fish, occupy the same biological
niche as fish but they're not fish. You get it?"

I nod, because I don't get it.

"So?" I ask.

"Well," he smiles, "It's like this...in front of you. It has handles, hinges, a
window looking out on the the world."

"A door?"

"Exactly," he smiles, "It looks like a door. But you won't be leaving through it.
Convergent evolution."

He's misunderstood the concept but the laughter as he throws back his head is
chilling nonetheless.

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Convergent Evolution

  1. Don’t insult your own story!

    Actually, it’s pretty good. It gets us thinking about how dolphins evolved, then takes a 180-degree turn into evil-minded madness. Bwah-ha-ha!

  2. Very sinister. I agree with Jan, no reason not to like.

  3. It’s a good story. And cleverly written. That’s a great ending.

  4. This is an ominous and cleverly crafted story, Etienne. I enjoyed it.

  5. You know, I’ve posted a lot of stories I thought sucked, but I kept my opinion to myself and was surprised by how many people actually said it was some of my best work. On the other hand, some of the stuff I was really proud of didn’t go over that well. Don’t be so hard on yourself.

  6. I was just busy learning about dolphins when suddenly it went all dark and chilling! I enjoyed it.

  7. Dear Etienne,

    I’m rather spooked by the chilling laughter at the end. Something tells me not to approach the doorway. Nice one.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  8. Yes, it looks like rather a long winded explanation for kidnapping and murder!

  9. There are plenty of people in the world who will ridicule you and dismiss you, don’t be one of them. I liked your story but it was a little creepy (probably why I liked it).

  10. If there is a race which can fail to converge on a concept, it’s the human one. Nice tale and chilling. Don’t knock it. (Leave that to others and they will)! 🙂

Leave a comment