How To Keep Your Head Above Water

This is a quick Friday Fictioneers submission. Thanks to Douglas McIlroy for the prompt-I hope you don’t mind the direction I’ve taken it in.

  
Raphael was an ugly man with an unimpressive physique. If you’d been keeping score, you’d say he was a perfect-or, rather, a stunningly imperfect-1. So, when it came to finding work, Raphael was stuck. He didn’t have the looks to make it in politics and he’d really wanted to put something back. It was inevitable that he’d buy himself a diver’s suit and set up as a stripper. Alas, no one would pay to see him taking off his clothes but putting them on proved to be a real money spinner even if there was nowhere to put his tips.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “How To Keep Your Head Above Water

  1. Nice build up. I didn’t quite understand how being a stripper (or a politician for that matter) was putting something back, or why people would pay to see him put his clothes on (I guess the joke is he was so ugly people paid him to put his body away), So the ending passed me by a bit

  2. Hahahaha! This was good, Etienne! There’s always a place for people in this world, huh? 😀

    Reminds me of my Spanish tutor telling me that she couldn’t understand about her brother in Ecuador seen dating a girl who had a killer body but a homely face. She mentioned a Spanish phrase they had for that and I said to her, “Well, that’s close to what we say, except we say ‘paper bag’ instead of pillow.”

  3. michael1148humphris

    My tip, it’s in the helmet.

  4. We say “You never look at the mantelpiece when poking the fire”, but that’s rude, so I’ll refrain from repeating it.

Leave a Reply

