Don’t Faucet

This is a Friday Fictioneers submission for 30th October. I’ve barely bothered with this blog recently, because I’ve been preoccupied with clearing my literary decks ahead of Nanowrimo. My plan was to knock  my ‘debut’ novel into shape so that I could use the next month to get started on a sequel, though I’ve actually had a better idea for my November project now. Anyway, 3 years behind schedule and 2 books later, my book went live in the early hours of the morning and I’m now free (for a few days) to focus on stories like this one…

  

Thanks to Dale Rogerson for the prompt.

Patrick Russet jumped the rectory fence and into the lane. Already, the euphoria was passing. Soon it would give way to exhaustion and apprehension. The reverend had been an upstanding member of the community, and the police would be dogged in their pursuit of his killer. Let them come, Patrick thought; Green had killed his favourite uncle after all. Patrick had no regrets. Well, almost…His arms ached from carrying the murder weapon and it would be almost impossible to dispose of. It he did it again, he decided, he’d go with the rope instead of the lead piping.

(nb the title has nothing to do with anything but I couldn’t think of a better one)

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Don’t Faucet

  1. I haven’t a cluedo what you’re on about! 😉
    Good piece.

  2. And so a serial killer is unwittingly born. It seems we are all going with the scream theme this week.

  3. Yeah, lead pipe doesn’t sound very handy. Maybe a knife. Mind you, guns are loud… but there are silencers, just saying. 😉 Great take, and congrats on your book.

  4. I’ve never heard of Cluedo….sounds fun! Great take. Congrats on your book, too. What a great achievement.

  5. Sounds like this isn’t going to be his last victim. He’s really gone over the edge. Good story, Etienne. Good luck with your book, and for the future. 🙂 — Suzanne

Leave a Reply

