Bottled-Up Rage

This is my Friday Fictioneers submission for 31st July 2015.

Thanks to G.L.McMillan for the prompt.

You may or may not be interested to know that my first book is available for nothing on Kindle and my anthology is out on Friday.

  

Dennis sighed. So this was to be his home for the next ten years or so. It was a little cramped, he supposed, but he’d stayed in worse. The view was nice, too. Mostly, the cells he’d seen were either windowless or overlooked vast expanses of desert.

He could, he supposed, get used to it though he wished he’d held his temper better. The client might have been rubbing him up the wrong way but no one would choose to be confined in Hospital for Criminally Insane Genies.

You may notice that this is a companion piece to one of my better received submissions, though that one had a better title.

51 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

51 responses to “Bottled-Up Rage

  1. Awww – you thought this plot before me! Nicely done !!

  2. MrBinks

    Nice idea! 🙂

  3. Hospital for Criminally Insane Genies, I don’t think they would let me in. Love the idea. 🙂

  4. Dear Etienne,

    Cute story with the perfect title. I really enjoyed this.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  5. Ha! Clever. I wouldn’t have thought of that. Bravo.

  6. ‘Rubbing him up the wrong way’, funny line, very funny piece.

  7. interesting twist to end a story in 100 words

  8. A bottle with a view. It’s the little things in life.
    Tracey

  9. Before I realized this was about a genie, I kept thinking, “Ten years is a long time to live in a cramped flat.” Ha! Fun stuff, Etienne.

    Thanks for providing the link to the previous look into the world of genies. That was one of the first prompts I ever responded to . . . The beginning of an era, so to speak.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

  10. Great story! Love the idea of a Hospital for criminally insane genies. Brilliant use of the prompt 🙂

  11. If I rub Barbara Eden, do I get anything but jail time?

  12. This is delightful. I couldn’t figure out where it was leading until the end. Well done.

  13. LOL. Criminally insane Genie – was genius. Fun and well crafted story.

  14. Fun stuff! Who’d a thought Genies could be criminally insane?

  15. Couldn’t you just wish him sane and law-abiding?
    Good piece.

  16. Genies are the perfect response to this prompt, and yet I didn’t see it coming! Duh. Wonderfully done!

  17. Genie’s in a bottle, spirits in a bottle, smart minds think alike. 🙂 Truly enjoyed it!

  18. Oh the havoc a criminally insane genie could do! I wish these bottles had stoppers in them! 😉

  19. Brilliant. I couldn’t see it coming at all.

  20. Darn— you beat me to a similar story. And title. And the first submission in the link-up… 😔

  21. sweet! Criminally Insane Genies. Awesome. I won’t be taking the tops off any bottles collections anytime soon!

  22. Very good. I love where you took this. Great title and ending, too.

  23. Nice take on the prompt

  24. Brilliant idea. Suited the photo prompt perfectly!

Leave a Reply

