Some Of Us Are Looking At The Stars

This is my first Friday Fictioneers submission in some time. Thanks to Kent Bonham for the photo.

*************

Well-dressed women hurry down the Boulevard. Gaston shudders in the doorway he’s learned to call home; his castle. They don’t notice him and it hurts. It was his need for attention that did for him in the end. That and fashion.

Fashion.

He looks over at the shop-windows now. Sees the designs. They look vulgar, uncomfortable; they’d never keep off the cruel rain that chills his bones. They’d have been perfect for him, back then, before they took his livelihood, stuck his name on the Sex Offenders’ Register.

The emperor sobs. He should have never trusted that unknown designer.

2015/06/img_2969.jpg

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “Some Of Us Are Looking At The Stars

  1. Riches to rags story huh? But he’d have adjusted with the rag if it wasn’t accompanied by that tag I guess.

  2. Ah, there’s always another side to the story. Neatly done, and welcome back!

  3. Lol, I was always on the weavers’ side until now.

  4. The emperor’s new clothes: I hadn’t considered the sex offenders’ angle. Clever idea.

  5. Well written and sad – he doesn’t have a chance in hell to get rid of this tag. Nan

  6. That last line made me LOL..thanks I needed that this morning!

  7. Ha, funny! I guess his “new clothes” weren’t everything (or indeed anything) he was hoping for 🙂

  8. That’s why I always stick with clothes designed by no names. I may not be real stylish, but at least I know I’m covered in all the necessary places! 😉 Great twist on a fun tale!

  9. Poor emperor. He did trust the wrong person. Very well done!

  10. Dear Etienne,

    The inside story and the emperor’s on the sex offenders’ register. A great twist on an old story. Love it.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  11. Francesca Smith

    Oh dear.
    Now that was a twist!

  12. So funny. Poor Emperor – he fell a long way down. I love that story; it applies to so many real life situations, and I love your version.

  13. Etienne! So Good to see you back in these halls once again. I thoroughly enjoyed this extension of a familiar tale. Fashion will be the end of us all eventually, I imagine.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

  14. That last line was priceless. What a great story.

Leave a Reply

