A Spirited Discourse

After a brief hiatus, this is my Friday Fictioneers submission for August 29th. Thanks to Madison Woods for the picture.

20140827-084910.jpg

Anyone enjoying this story is welcome to investigate my flop novel.

-What seems to be the problem?
-It’s me ectoplasm, doc.
-Ectoplasm?
-Yeah.
-…Just what line of work is it you’re in?
-I’m a spectre.
-A ghost?
-No, Doc. I’m a spectre, see? Ghosts are ten-a-penny?
-So what’s the difference?
-…
-Do g…Spectres normally need the services of a general practitioner?
-Oh, yeah. There’s a lot of occupational hazards in the spectering gig.
-Such as?
-…Anyway, my ectoplasm.
-What’s the problem?
-Well, it’s sort of…rheumy.
-Rheumy? What colour?
-They call it Embarassed Penguin in the Dulux Catalogue. Normally, it’s Glittering Calico
-And when did you first notice it?
-I was doing a visitation?
-A haunting?
-A visitation… and it just sort of appeared…My victims were most embarrassed.
-I see.
-And it’s been the same ever since. I’m worried my visiting days are behind me.
-Right…Have you been near any Holy Water?
-No.
-Welsh priests?
-Nah.
-…Phone masts?
-You don’t know what’s wrong with me, do you, Doc?
-Perhaps you should brace yourself. I’m afraid it’s terminal, Mr Marley.
-Terminal? How long have I got?
-About six millennia.

26 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

26 responses to “A Spirited Discourse

  1. Ah, the myriad colour shades of the infamous Dulux catalogue! Love the Dickensian kick at the end and Welsh priests – very cool!

  2. Etienne, Poor Mr. Marley. 😥 I wonder where he’ll go next. If that’s “the” Mr. Marley, I don’t think I want to know. O_o Well written. 🙂 —Susan

  3. That’s excellent, brisk dialogue.

  4. Very amusing, and well written dialogue. I love the paint chart references.

  5. Ha, Etienne, what a spectre-cal that must have been. Funny take and welcome back. I’m back after a long hiatus, but a lovely break.

    janet

  6. You have quite a spectral sense of humor, Etienne. 🙂

  7. Welsh priests are a real no-no. Avoid them like the plague. Marley? Some reference to Dickens here?

  8. This spectre is a spoiled one!

  9. Dear Etienne, Good job and what is wrong with Welsh priests? I don’t know the difference, being protestant and all. Poor Mr. Marley! Thanks! Nan 🙂

  10. I reckon that the first FF ever with the line ‘It’s me ectoplasm, doc’ in it. Lovely.

  11. Mr. Marley! So fun. The dialogue in this is wonderful.

  12. Jacob Marley? I like this Very good. Lucy

  13. Thanks. Definitely THAT Mr Marley-the only literary ghost I could think of with a surname.

Leave a Reply

