Lyre, Lyre

This is my Friday Fictioneers submission for August 1st.

Thanks to everyone who downloaded a copy my book during the free promotion. If anyone is thrown by any of my references, there’s a glossary in progress here. Thanks for downloading and I hope you enjoy it.

Orpheus smiled. After thousands of years, Hades had relented. It had taken the best efforts of Amnesty International but he was going to set Eurydice free at last. Naturally, the same rules would apply: if she looked back, she’d be staying for good in the underground kingdom. No amount of liberal handwringing would change that. Orpheus wasn’t going to take any chances. He’d chartered a private jet.

Eurydice was a beautiful as ever, he thought as he sat next to her on the leatherette seats, but the millenia of separation had left them with nothing to say to one another. Orpheus fiddled awkwardly with the tiny packet of peanuts the stewardess had given him and sighed. Tongue tied, he looked out of the window for inspiration.

“Look, Eurydice,” he said after a while, “The people look like ants.”

Eurydice shifted in her seat, peered our the window. “So they do,” she said.

Bugger, thought Orpheus as he realised what he’d done.

(By the way thanks to Carol J Forrester who reminded me that it was actually Orpheus who was forbidden from looking back.  I considered going back and changing it but I decided I’d let my mistake stand rather than go in for some Stalinesque revisionism)

25 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

25 responses to “Lyre, Lyre

  1. Dear Etienne,

    Not knowing a lot of mythology I had to look up Orpheus and Eurydice. Poor Orpheus, foiled again. Imaginative.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  2. Oh, not again…Years of planning thrown out the window.

  3. Good story. I really like your modern take on a Greek classic. As an aside, I think you meant ‘best efforts of amnesty international’.

  4. What was old is new again. Nicely done!

  5. Wonderful, I love modernization of mythology and the idea of these two on a private jet really had me chuckling.
    But now I’m going to sound really pedantic, but I thought it was Orpheus who wasn’t allowed to look back as he lead Euridyce out of Hade’s Domain?

  6. Etienne, Good and interesting story based on mythology. Too bad all that planning failed because of a simple mistake. Well written with humor. 🙂 —Susan

  7. Hahahaha! Good one, Etienne. Who’d have thought? They were probably playing Dance of the Blessed Spirits by Gluck on the plane, too.

  8. Somehow Gods eating packets of peanuts rattled my funny bone. Nice take on the prompt.

  9. Etienne,
    I love a good retelling of mythology, and this fits the bill splendidly. I particularly like Orpheus using the term “bugger.”

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

  10. I like the idea of Greek mythology brought up to date. Silly Orpheus.

  11. Bugger is just the perfect reaction! Lovely.
    Started reading the book.

  12. Love it when the Greek Gods are brought into modern times, so this story works perfectly for me. Wonder if Zeus in his condo in Miami Beach had anything to do with this?

  13. Dear Etienne, Really good story on mythology. I don’t remember too much about their stories as it’s been a long time since I read anything about them. I’m old…. I enjoyed the peanuts on the plane and poor Eurydice – it is so funny – it really is – such a mistake! Just when you think you have it all figured out – or are trying not to say something – you do. Great! Nan 🙂

  14. Oh no! Very clever story, using classic mythology. Really enjoyed it, Etienne.

Leave a Reply

