A Certain Romance

This is a Friday Fictioneers submission. I have been having trouble with my phone so will add Claire Fuller’sphoto later as I’m dependent on what I can do on my work desktop. This is one of those stories that is more about the word count than plot/language but I’ve been ignoring the 100 word rule so long now that it was time to do something about it. I don’t do serious much as a rule so I thought I’d have a bash here. I could have probably done a better story in 120 words; I might have turned in a less flabby one in 80 but I wanted to get it to 100 on the nose.

Incidentally, my problems with my phone mean that I can’t really wordpress unless I have access to a computer. This is the main reason why I’ve been keeping a low profile on FF. It should also explain, if not excuse, my unforgivable failure to acknowledge those of you who read and commented in my last story.

Hopefully, things will be back to normal by next time.

Finally, as the ‘no plugging’ rule that I thought was in place doesn’t seem to exist, can I draw your attention to my forthcoming bookwhich will hopefully be out on July 14th.

We’d come here of a weekend, walk amongst the statues. It wasn’t the most glamorous way to spend our afternoons but it was all I could afford on an apprentice draftsman’s wages. You always said there was a certain romance to it, even if you’d gag when I pointed to the statue of the king and queen and said that would be us one day.

We’ve been married 20 years now, and we haven’t spoken in five. The council has shut down the park and keeps threatening to sell it off to a property developer. Sometimes, I wish they would.

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “A Certain Romance

  1. Twenty years seems proof that it doesn’t take riches, to feed love. Nice job.

  2. If they haven’t spoken in five years they have turned into those statues – they should both get out of the park!

  3. (walk amongst the statues – should this be walked amongst the statues?)
    There’s a lot going on in this. Well done.

  4. The end of the dream! Sensitively told.

  5. End of the romance, end of the park. Nice story!

  6. Dear Etienne,

    Married for 20 years, haven’t spoken in 5? Horrid way to live.

    Congratulations on the book.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  7. camgal

    Quality not quantity. Well done Etienne 🙂

  8. Etienne,
    What a sad story, but it is well-written. Sometimes I think a story benefits from the coaxing it takes to get it to fit into a certain number of words.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

  9. Dear Etienne, Good story – but not to have talked to a spouse in 5 years? How could that happen if you are living together? Well done! Nan 🙂

Leave a Reply

