Gambolling Awareness

Another Friday Fictioneers submission. I had a few other ideas, and I really wanted to do an update of Animal Farm for the Putin Era, but this was the one that took hold first. 100 words exactly. Thanks to Sandra Crook for the picture.

Whenever a new gadget came out, Murdo had to buy it before anyone else. He was the first boy at our school to get an Atari Lynx and the first person at the bank to get an Ipad. He even got a DAT player back in ’94. He doesn’t like to talk about that, though.

When the first In-Car Cloning Devices came out, guess who wanted to be an early adopter? Trouble was, his mum thought she’d surprise him by ordering a cheap one from the Internet. Predictable results ensued, but at least they threw in a free USB cable.

20140514-100145.jpg

18 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

18 responses to “Gambolling Awareness

  1. Dear Etienne,

    I’m intrigued by the idea of an in-car cloning device. I’d like to clone myself and send the clone to work while I stay home and write. The USB cable makes the deal more tempting.

    Clever story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  2. Wow, a free USB cable? I didn’t know they had perfected the in-car cloning yet. Well done! Nan ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I’m laughing at the idea of in-car cloning and trying to imagine a situation when you would ever need that. I guess in a situation like this, where you want some extra mutton chops for dinner. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Early adopters make me laugh. I remember a friend of mine being all excited when he got a DVD player for ONLY $500!!!

  5. What a wonderful take on the story. Sometimes there can bee too much of a good thing.

  6. Etienne, Good story. I personally always wait until the price comes down. Of course by then something new has come on the market. Of course that’s no doubt why the price comes down. Well done. ๐Ÿ™‚ —Susan

  7. In car cloning? I had to do a double take for that. Good story, good idea!

  8. This made me smile BIG ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. There are always people who must have the latest gadget – whether they have any use for it or not. Still, a free USB cable always comes in handy …

    I hope his mother also found him a gadget from the internet for cleaning up his car after all those sheep!

  10. Looks like he’ll have to splash out for the more expensive model. Still, he’s now got a spare USB cable, which he won’t be able to find when he needs it ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. This is a funny and creative story. I’ve been burned by cheap tech products ordered from the Internet. You know, a cheap in-car cloning device might be bad if it malfunctions and clones all the horrible drivers on the road.

  12. Very clever, Etienne. I’d like to clone myself right about now, and send the other one off to do all my errands today! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  13. Big mistake.Buy cheap and you get woolly software.

  14. Haha! Good story! I expect he bought in to Betamax video and then HD-DVD as well… Oh dear….

  15. Hope he learns his lesson! Or opens a butcher shop…

  16. Now THIS had some fun in it! Thanks, Etienne!

  17. Etienne,
    What a wickedly devious brain you have! An in-car cloning device, and of course, he had to have one. Just–how the heck is he going to get the blasted thing to turn off. Brilliant!

    Marie Gail

Leave a Reply

